Empties: Hair Products, Detangling Conditioner, Shave Creams, & Random Bits and Bobs

Grab some coffee and get ready, ’cause this is a long one!

IMG_0309

OGX Moroccan Argan Creme Shampoo

I’m a big big fan of moroccan oil and argan oil products.  I love the smell, the nourishment, and moisturization it gives my hair.  Naturally, when I saw this shampoo from OGX, I immediately gravitated towards it.  I was surprisingly disappointed by this product.  My hair felt very dried out and brittle when I was using this shampoo.  As soon as I finished this bottle, I immediately sought out an alternate shampoo to use.

L’Oreal Total Repair Extreme Shampoo

On the flip side, I LOVED this shampoo from L’Oreal.  This shampoo did the exact opposite of the OGX shampoo.  It made my hair feel so soft, smooth, and detangled.  The scent of the shampoo was fantastic.  This shampoo made my hair feel so clean that I started washing my hair every 3 days instead of every 2 days!  At the time of writing this post, I’ve already repurchased and used half of a second bottle of this shampoo.

IMG_0310

 OGX Argan Oil of Morocco Conditioner

There wasn’t much to write home about with this product.  The conditioner smelled nice and made my hair more detangled than shampoo alone, but didn’t do anything that extraordinary.  I wouldn’t not recommend the conditioner, but I’d be just as happy snatching up a different drugstore conditioner instead.

Macadamia Natural Oil Deep Repair Masque

Wow.  This repair masque was an AMAZING product.  It made my hair feel sooo soft, smooth, and detangled.  A large tub of this is a bit pricey for a drugstore product, but personally I think it’s worth it because of how well it works.  It worked so well that I started using it as my daily conditioner.  To be honest, I think it might have been too much for my hair to handle when I started using it daily.  My hair felt stripped when I was using it daily, so I would definitely recommend using it once or twice weekly.

IMG_0311

Pure Silk Shave Cream in Raspberry Mist

=( …  I’m not a fan of razors, and only use them out of necessity.  The thought of slicing my skin with a sharp blade by accident gives me the heebie jeebies.  One thing that helps with my uneasiness around razors is having a good shave cream that has a thicker consistency and lathers well, to help the blade glide more easily and to reduce the feeling of the blade against your skin.  This Silk shave cream had a very thin, runny consistency and practically washed off after application.  It was better than not using any shave cream at all, but I could not wait to finish this can and move onto another brand.

eos Shave Cream in Pomegranate Raspberry

Apparently I have a thing for raspberry scented things.  The pomegranate raspberry shave cream from eos is one of my favorites from the drugstore.  I’ve repurchased this shave cream a handful of times already, and have never once regretted it.  It has a thick consistency which is nice, but it isn’t what sets it apart.  What sets it apart is that it has a lotion-like consistency, which makes my legs feel more moisturized than other drugstore shave creams.  The fruity scent is just an added bonus.

IMG_0313

CVS Premium Cotton Rounds

There’s not much to review about cotton rounds, although I will say that I liked that these cotton rounds were smooth on one side but bumpy on the other side.  I usually wipe off all my makeup with the smooth side, then go over my T zone with the bumpy side for some extra cleaning.

Benefit Gimme Brow

I’ve used the Benefit brow gel once before – a long, long time ago – and I wasn’t a fan.  At the time, I used it alone, without the help of any other brow product, and on its own I don’t think it was powerful enough to fill my brows in the way I wanted them to. This last time that I used the Benefit brow gel, I filled in my brows with a brow pencil, then used the brow gel for some added pigment and to help hold the hairs in place.  When using it as an additive rather than using it as my only brow product, I liked the product much better.

Burt’s Bees Rejuvenating Lip Balm in Acai Berry

I loved the fruity scent of the Burt’s Bees lip balm in the acai berry scent, although I don’t think it did much to moisturize my lips.  It was one of those lip balms that I just kept on my desk for those times when I’m sitting at my desk and am far too lazy to walk across the room to use the lip balm in my makeup display.

Beauty360 Lip Balm in Dragon Fruit

Like the Burt’s Bees lip balm, I enjoyed the scent of the Beauty360 lip balm in the dragon fruit scent, but didn’t feel like it did much for moisturizing my lips.  This lip balm I kept in my work coat pocket, so that I would always have some form of lip balm on hand during the work day.  When I’ve been at work all day and my lips are dying for lip balm, using any form of lip balm feels satisfying.

e.l.f. Brow Brush

I had been using my brow brush from e.l.f. for quite some time with no problems, until bits of the plastic on either side of the bristles started to break off.  Without the plastic holding them in place, the bristles started to fall out.  I repurchased the brush, thinking my first one was just falling apart from age and use.  Within a matter of days, I ran into the same problem with the second brush.  Even though e.l.f. products are ridiculously inexpensive, I was quite annoyed at how quickly the second brush had disintegrated. Not repurchasing!

pureSOL Konjac Sponge

For a short while, I was a fan of using sponges to clean my face.  They were a great way to gently wash and exfoliate my face at the same time.  Being able to gently scrub my face as I was washing it made me feel like I was getting a better clean with my face wash. That was how I felt about sponges until I had an unfortunate incident with them that I detailed in my previous blog post, which you can read all about here.  After that incident, I don’t think I will be repurchasing a face cleaning sponge for a long, long time.

IMG_0314

Not Your Mother’s Knotty to Nice Conditioning Detangler

I love this detangling spray.  It smells fantastic and simply gets the job done.  The only downside is that I can’t seem to find it in a brick and mortar store, so I have to resort to throwing it in my Amazon shopping cart whenever I have other purchases I have to make.  When I get out of the shower, I simply spritz a few sprays all over my hair and let it sit and absorb for maybe 5 to 10 minutes.  At the end of 10 minutes, I go to comb through my hair and it’s completely tangle free!

That’s it for my empties today!  Hope you found some of this helpful for your future purchases!

~~~~

Thanks for reading!

5 Comments

    1. I’ve tried a handful of their products and most of them work just fine for me, but unfortunately this shampoo didn’t fare well for me. I do love the scent of their coconut shampoo and conditioner though!

  1. This was really useful! I found out a few surprising things about the products-I know not to purchase the burts bees Chapstick now and I am interested in trying that shampoo. Thanks for the post

    1. Thank you for reading! I’ve only ever repurchased a shampoo/conditioner twice – once with Aveeno and now with L’Oreal – so it’s a rarity for me. As for Burt’s Bees, I like their branding as a whole, and would love to try one of their newest lipstick launches, but unfortunately this particular product didn’t blow me away.

      1. I always repurchase my shampoo and conditioner from the same place! I tend to stick to what I know which is both safe and boring which is why I’m trying to branch out in all my purchases

Leave me your random thoughts & ramblings below =)

