In the Kitchen: Spaghetti with Clams

Mmm carbs =)!  My boyfriend and I have been dabbling with cooking dinner together lately, and I thought I’d blog some of the dishes we’ve been making.

A couple weeks ago, I was having a serious craving for spaghetti and clams, and as I had the day off, I decided to stop by the market to pick up all the ingredients and have it ready for us to cook when he got home from work.

The Ingredients We Used

  • 1 lb of spaghetti
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 shallots
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • 2 and 1/2 lb of clams
  • 1/2 cup white cooking wine
  • 2 tbsps unsalted butter
  • Parsley

The Boiling, Chopping, Stirring, and Cooking Process

Photo Jun 08, 5 50 31 PM (1)

First, we filled a large pot with water and placed the 1 lb of spaghetti in the pot to cook.  We added a couple pinchs of salt for flavoring.  You can eyeball the amount of water and salt, exact measurements are not needed.

Periodically check on your spaghetti.  Everyone has different preferences for how hard or soft they want their spaghetti to be, so simply turn off the stove when the spaghetti is to your liking.

In a separate pan, we heated 1/2 a cup of extra virgin olive oil.  To that we added the shallots and garlic. After a few minutes, we added the clams, 2 tablespoons of butter, and sprinkled some chopped parsley on top.    As I am not a seafood expert, I didn’t bother to pay attention to the type of clams I was buying.  I went up to the seafood counter, saw only one type of clams available, and asked for 2 and 1/2 lbs, and they worked out just fine.  For the parsley, you can add however much you like.  Again, exact measurements are not needed.  For the butter, I bought sticks of butter, which were hard from being refrigerated, so we just microwaved it for about 30 seconds or so to melt it a bit and make it easier to mix with the wine sauce.

Once all the clams opened, we poured the pan with all the goodies into the pot and mixed everything together to make the final concoction.

The Final Dish

Voilaaaa!

Photo Jun 08, 6 13 46 PM (1)

Like our hedgehog salt and pepper shakers? =)

Hope this inspires you to get in the kitchen if you’ve been thinking about doing some cooking.  We had a great time making and it was pretty easy to do.  Let me know in the comments down below if you’ve ever made spaghetti and clams!

~~~~

Thanks for reading!

4 Comments

    1. Thank you! I’ve only had raw oysters before, and I find them to be different from clams. I find oysters to have a looser and slimier consistency to them than clams. Clams also come in small sizes which make them easier to mix with the spaghetti in the pot. I would think oysters might be a bit cumbersome because of their size.

Leave me your random thoughts & ramblings below =)

