Posted in Beauty, Blog, Fashion, Reviews

Hot Pink Lipstick Haul: YSL, Maybelline, NYX

In my last blog post, I talked about how my lipstick color of choice in the early months of the year is hot pink.  Lately, I’ve been on the hunt for a couple new hot pink lipsticks to add to my collection.  I picked up 3 recently to try out and review.  So let’s get onto the review!

screenshot_2017-02-09-14-32-282

YSL Volupte Shine Lipstick in Fuchsia Stiletto

In natural lighting:

Photo Apr 06, 12 59 47 PM II

I was browsing around Sephora and stumbled upon this bright, neon pink lipstick from YSL.  I found this lipstick to be smooth, moisturizing, and void of the waxy, plastic lipstick smell that makes me nauseous.  It has a pleasant, sweet, candy smell, and is sweet to the taste (f you accidentally lick your lips or apply the lipstick too far in towards your mouth). Personally, I’m not a fan of the sweet taste, but it doesn’t bother me too too much.  In the tube, the color was a brilliant, shocking pink. However, once applied to the lips (and especially as I reapplied throughout the day), I found the color to be too dark for what I was looking for.

In room lighting:

Photo Apr 06, 1 00 18 PM II

Verdict: I’m torn on this lipstick.  I LOVE the formula.  But for $37, I feel as if I shouldn’t keep a lipstick color that isn’t exactly what I was looking for, albeit a nice color.  Right now, I’m thinking of returning this lipstick and one day repurchasing my first YSL in a different color.

Maybelline The Vivids Lipstick in Fuchsia Flash

 In natural lighting:

wp-1486854916033.jpg

After the YSL lipstick turned out not to be exactly what I was looking for, I decided to go the opposite way and try a drugstore alternative.  This Maybelline lipstick from the Vivids collection in the shade Fuchsia Flash comes off as a light, cool-toned, blue-based pink. The lipstick glides on smoothly, feels moisturizing, and is void of the waxy lipstick smell.

In room lighting:

img_20170206_2329472

Verdict: While this shade still wasn’t the exact neon pink shade I was looking for, I think I will be keeping this one.  I don’t own many pink lipsticks, let alone a cool-toned, blue-based pink lipstick.  It’s quite different than anything in my collection, so I think I’ll be hanging onto this one.

NYX Matte Lipstick in Shocking Pink

In natural lighting:

img_20170206_161630

The NYX matte lipstick in the shade Shocking Pink is a matte, bright, neon, bold, purple-toned, hot pink shade.  The lipstick glides on relatively smoothly, with an ever so slight tug due to the matte formula. Although is a matte formula, the lipstick does not feel drying, though I wouldnt consider it moisturizing either.  As with the other two lipsticks, this lipstick is also void of any waxy, plasticy smell.

In room lighting:

img_20170206_2334072

~~~~

I hope you enjoyed this post!  Thanks for reading!

Author:

A mish mash of clothing, makeup, reviews, and life experiences. Come check out my blog!

3 thoughts on “Hot Pink Lipstick Haul: YSL, Maybelline, NYX

Leave me your random thoughts & ramblings below =)

