Road Rage: Driving in the City

I’m crabby when my alarm goes off at 6:30 in the morning.  I’m crabby when I actually roll out of bed at 7.  And I’m a crabby driver when I’m inching my way through city traffic at 8 in the morning. 

Things I’ve honked at this past week:
1) Car veering into my lane from the turning lane without signaling

2) Car in front of me starts to break, I break and stop behind it, everyone behind me breaks, and this genius decides he’s going to parallel park now.  Are.  You.  KIDDING ME?!  In case you didn’t realize, parallel parking requires backing up.  And in case it didn’t occur to you, there’s an entire line of traffic stopping within a foot behind you…do you see any room to back up??  The road is only wide enough to fit one lane of traffic in each direction, so where exactly do you expect me to move so you can park?  Or does this fool really think he can do this without hitting my car?  As if that wasn’t bad enough, I honked to make him aware of his stupidity, and he continued to reverse!  I was so irate I laid on the horn a second time and veered into the opposite lane. 

3) I’m stopped at a red light, and when the light turns green, this guy on a scooter decides to emerge between two parked cars as my car started to inch forward.  I hit the brakes to let him go, but he decides he’s not going to go.  So I start inching forward again, and he decides now he’s going to go.  ?!?! 

Something I’ve wanted to honk at:

1) People driving at 20 mph when you can clearly do 40, further inducing traffic. 

Keep in mind, I am not the world’s greatest driver, in the sense that I don’t do highways, and I don’t do roads that I don’t know like the back of my hand.  I rarely drive, so I don’t think I have enough experience to do those things.  That being said, at least when I do drive, I know how to control my vehicle.  Some of the things I run into (no pun intended) on the road just boggle my mind.  What are these drivers thinking??  Coming from someone who doesn’t drive all that often, I think you’ve got to be a pretty bad driver if even I’m complaining about it. 

Oh the joys of driving in the city.  I’m glad I live in a more suburban area.  Once I hit the suburbs, it’s a bit more tolerable.

Leave me your random thoughts & ramblings below =)

