Stop the Masses!

It’s lunch time on campus, and I have about 45 minutes between my classes to munch on my sandwich and get some brain food in me.  I spent the last 15 minutes of my break walking around aimlessly trying to find a chair, a couch, a table, really any place where I could plop my rear end for a few minutes.  Maybe a little doggie mat in the corner. 

I finally stumbled upon an open couch, stationed a foot away from and facing another couch occupied by another student.  Talk about too close for comfort.  You know that Ice Breakers commercial, where there’s public space, private space, and Ice Breakers space?  I feel like I ‘m in private space when I should really be in public space.

I know personally how frustrating it can be when someone intrudes on your public space who you don’t know.  Just this morning I was waiting on the platform for my train, and two different people came and stood on either side of me – almost touching me – to wait for the same train.  I  mean, really?  The entire station is empty, and you choose to come to the exact spot that I’m standing and flank me on both sides??

As I don’t like having my space intruded upon, I felt a bit awkward sitting down next to this student who I didn’t know, but desperate times call for desperate measures.  This is what happens when a school the size of a nostril lets in enough students to fill a mansion.  Stop the masses.  We’re running out of private-space couches to awkwardly sit on.

2 Comments

    1. Hahaha that’s awful! Thankfully, I’m not claustrophobic, or else taking crowded trains into the city would be a nightmare. I’m actually okay with passengers packing tightly together if the train is legitimately full, but if there’s room to space out, c’mon…

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave me your random thoughts & ramblings below =)

