Exercise Makes Me Stupid

1Vacation is a beautiful thing.  First of all, I get to sleep for more than 3 hours a night, woot!  The second thing I love about being on vacation is the FOOD!  During the semester, I’m either too busy to eat, or too stressed to eat, so having the time to eat all I can eat during vacation feels like the most wonderful luxury.  This evening, I decided to cook up a quick spaghetti and meatballs dish.  Yummm…  I love spaghetti and meatballs, but strangely, I can never find just a good ol’ plain spaghetti and meatballs dish on the menu at any restaurant.  They’ve always got some fancy Italian spaghetti or pasta with a thousand different cheeses and herbs, which is doubly bad because I get sick from just the smell of cheese =/

My plan this evening is to hunker down with this plate of awesomeness and watch reruns of Gilmore Girls for the millionth time, and then hop on the treadmill for maybe 15, 20 minutes.  That’s the other thing about vacation – I have time to exercise.  Then again, I don’t even run on a treadmill, I just speed-walk, so it may not even be considered exercise. 

I’ve blogged before – I think at the beginning of my fall semester – that my new-semester-resolution was to fit exercise into my schedule.  I talked about how my college is always sending out peppy emails encouraging us to eat right and exercise, because it keeps you healthy AND it improves your memory, which in turn improves your performance in school.  I think it’s always good to try to find ways to improve and better yourself, so I wanted to try the exercise.

OH BOY DID THAT PLAN FAIL.  I guess it works for others, the whole exercising improves performance in school thing, but let me tell you, it did absolutely nothing for me.  Or rather, I should say, it did absolutely nothing good for me.  It did, however, do a lot of bad.  Let’s put it this way: I had never failed a test before IN MY LIFE.  I had never even come remotely close to failing a test in my life.  Now, obviously, I can’t prove that exercising caused this, but I mean, c’mon…it just so happens that the first time EVER that I decide to exercise and I happen to fail my tests for the first time EVER?  Seems like a very big coincidence to me. 

And further coincidentally, I stopped exercising after that first round of exams and I aced every single one of my subsequent exams – enough to pull my semester grade up to a respectable A-.  Coincidence?

So I guess exercising works for some people, but for me, it did something to my focus.  Exercise and I just don’t mix – at least when I’m in school.  Once we’re on break, as I am now, I take advantage of the absence of school from my life to hop on the treadmill and get my heart going.  With all the food I’m loading up on, can’t let those arteries get clogged now, can I?

Leave me your random thoughts & ramblings below =)

