Officer Lawrence DePrimo: An Inspirational Act of Humbleness

I’m an obsessive email checker.  The first thing I do when I turn on my laptop is to check my email; and every day, when I sign out of my Yahoo! account, there’s a chain of Yahoo! news articles streaming in front of my face.  Some peak my interest, others make me wonder what’s wrong with America.  Today, however, this headline caught my eye: “Cop Who Helped Homeless Man,” and I’m so glad I clicked into it.  He is such an inspiration!  So much so that I thought I would copy and paste the link here for fellow bloggers to read, because I think this story deserves to be spread around and inspire as many people as it can. 

You can view a short clip of an interview with cop Lawrence DePrimo here.

image
Picture taken from http://www.amny.com/urbanite-1.812039/homeless-people-hope-that-hero-nypd-officer-s-behavior-goes-viral-too-1.4276261.

On an extremely cold night, Lawrence DePrimo spotted a homeless man in the street.  The officer subsequently went into a Skechers store, and according to him, told them, “I don’t care how much it costs, this man needs a pair of shoes.”  He then brought the shoes to the man, who told the officer he had never had a pair of shoes.  Now not only did this officer gift the homeless man the pair of shoes and some socks, but he KNELT DOWN AND PUT THE SOCKS AND SHOES ON THE HOMELESS MAN’S FEET.

That is just so completely humbling. 

I’m going to segue a bit.  I didn’t think of it at the time, when I was watching the video, but as I was writing this blog post, officer Lawrence DePrimo’s story reminds me of Jesus washing his disciples’ feet (John 13:1-17).  Jesus, someone of importance and power, humbled himself and washed the feet of his disciples.  He then told them, “[n]ow that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet.”  I think this story is a perfect example of this – one person humbling himself to “wash another’s feet,” so to speak.

Whether or not you’re religious, I think there is definitely still something to take away from this.  Every day the world becomes a more and more dangerous place to live in.  However, if everyone can take responsibility and be humble and kind to others, maybe one day the world can be a safe and peaceful place, however ambitious that goal may be.

I know this story inspired me to make changes in myself.  How about you?

Leave me your random thoughts & ramblings below =)

